h1

Happy 4th Birthday, Lily Paige Gribble!

August 5, 2010

Lily Paige Gribble

Mark and I started writing notes to the kids on their birthdays a few years ago so I thought this year we would share our messages.

From Mama

Dear Lily,

Today is your 4th birthday.  You have brought much love, gusto, joy, exuberance, laughter and exhaustion to our lives.  But, we are truly blessed by how much you have brightened our lives.  We thought we knew what we were doing parenting-wise when you came along but everything about you is SO different than Ty.

One of my favorite things about you, Lily, is that you need to snuggle.  Yes, Ty likes hugs and love but you NEED to snuggle.  With me.  Since you were a little girl you have had a physical need to snuggle, nuzzle, and hug me way more than Ty ever did.  You come up to me, rub your head on me and then you are off.  You are like a cute little baby animal that comes up and marks your scent on me.  I think it’s kinda cute.  🙂 If we have been apart for a long time, you have to make up for the “touch time” that we have missed.  When I am away from you, I miss kissing the top of your head and nuzzling you back.  I am finally realizing that I need the snuggles as much as you do.

Your 3 year old year was filled with many 1sts for you.  You went to preschool, went to Sea World, ate lunch with Shamu, went on a cruise, saw REAL fireworks, went to your first live “rock” concert and danced on the stage, and so much more. It is amazing to see the magic in your eyes as you experience new things.  I hope you never lose that sparkle.  It’s beautiful and is one of the many things that makes you uniquely you.

As you reminded me today, you are NOT a little girl any more.  I know it and it makes me a little sad.  Time is flying by and I can’t believe that you have been our lives for 4 whole years.  Yes, there are days that bedtime can’t come fast enough but for the most part, I cherish the time we share.  Thank you for teaching me to be a better person and mom.  I love you with ALL my heart, giggle bear.

With all my love,

Mama

From Daddy

Dear Lily,

I got to wake you up this morning and be the first one to wish you a Happy Birthday. True to form, you woke up with a smile, fist pump and a thankfully quiet “Yessssss, It’s my Birthday”. You are an amazing creature and your Daddy is completely mystified by you. It’s like God took all the good parts of Mama and shrunk them down into you. Yes, He did make room for a little of me as well. Like the way you try to crack a joke when you sense a serious situation. Mama reminded me that little trait is from me.

You walk into a room and fill it with laughter and a special energy that people love. After spending just a little time with you, the question people ask us most is “Is she always this funny/cute/energetic?” The answer is always a yes. Oh little girl, the Highs are high and the Lows are low, but your family loves you through all of them and our lives would be dramatically different if you had not come into them 4 years ago.

You love your brother more than he will ever know and try your hardest to keep up with him. Your parents pray that that relationship will grow nothing but stronger over time. It’s endearing to watch or listen the two of you play together. We sneak up and listen at the door or from the hall to the two of you playing together.

You’re my little Adventurer and throw caution to the wind. You eat new and different foods with abandon and it doesn’t matter whose plate it comes from. You share. Just last Sunday, your lunch came with 2 cookies in it. Your very first instinct was to rejoice in the fact that you had “2 COOKIES”, one for you and one for Ty. It’s those little glimpses into who you are that Mama and I cherish and thank God for every night.

I know you’re in a hurry, but please don’t “growed” up too fast. Daddy loves your hugs and snuggles and is still trying to learn what makes little girls so special. I love you with all that I have and hope you have a wonderful 4th Birthday.

Love,

Daddy

Leave a comment